I'll Critique Your Writing

Go to page: 1 Bookmark Thread
Ryuunicorn

9:02pm Jan 9 2013

Normal User

Hey, my name's Ryuuzaki and I want to critique your work!

I'm new to Res, but I love writing and reading and I have a fair amount of experience with giving constructive criticism.  However, my critiques can be very nit-picky and at times pretty harsh.  I try to be as polite and patient as possible, but I'm also brutally honest.  That's why I've decided to make this thread rather than go about posting my opinion unsolicited.  Please feel free to post a link to your thread or post your work directly here.  I might take a while getting back (I do have a life and writing a thoughtful critique takes time), but bear with me and I'll get to it eventually!

My Stats:
Education: 2 years of college as an English major (subject to change, la la la la)
Criticism Strengths: Fiction, poetry, flow, "believability," word choice
Criticism Weaknesses: Grammar, non-fiction
Sample of My Work:

00:03

in a way, we're all collectors,
gathering knick-knack memories in our minds,
hoarding them
until our heads overflow like curio shops -
dust and snow globes and
falling asleep in a stranger's bed

so, no, i'm not a masochist,
i don't think

i'm just collecting

and your cruelty is lingering
like a moth beneath my dim porch light,
waiting for the bulb to burn out
or to be let in

i may as well get a jar

Note/Disclaimer:
I, like you, am not infallible.  I'm aware that I'm not a perfect writer or a perfect critic.  Of course I will make mistakes.  Of course we will disagree.  In the end, it's up to you as the author to decide whether what I say is of any value and to use or disregard any advice I might give you as you please.  In spite of that, I will always do my utmost to give you the best critique I am capable of giving.

That said, please feel free to post anything, anytime. uwu
Poe

9:24pm Jan 9 2013 (last edited on 9:25pm Jan 9 2013)

Normal User